top of page

A Work In Progress

Some parents may feel the same like I do now. Feeling worried if your child will survive in big school especially if he was not exposed to playing around with other kids his age. Rohan is my only child and I hardly let him go out of the house. I just let him play with his toys by himself inside the house, so he does not know how to share and how to deal with other kids. When he started with this learning center, he had a hard time adjusting but eventually with the help of his teachers he managed somehow to mingle with other kids, though he still has a hard time sharing and playing with his classmates without resulting to hurting them unintentionally. He is a very playful kid. He just can’t control himself when he is too happy or too excited about something which leads to pushing a classmate without him realizing that he has already hurt him (though he is sweet with girl classmates, except for one). Or if he has first played a toy before or after class then he leaves them because he found a new toy and when he feels like he want to play again with the toys he just left and he sees that a classmate took it, he would take it from his classmate, or if his classmate will not give it to him he will hit his classmate.

I have been telling Rohan that pushing, biting, hitting, kicking are bad and that he should not do them, and he would just nod or say “Okay”. But it seems like he still doesn’t understand why it is bad and why he should not do them. It’s a struggle for me because I’m still looking for ways on how to make him understand. Perhaps he is not that mature enough for his age to understand what I always tell him to do and not to do. Or maybe, it’s too much for him that I keep on repeating it to him over and over again. I’m a work in progress for this matter and I know he is too. But no matter how upset or angry I am at Rohan, hurting him will not make things better. Or punishing him too much will only make things worse for both of us and I don’t want that to happen. This is the reason why I stopped working to guide and discipline him, though I still need more patience to make it all the way in helping him become a good person when he grows up.

bottom of page